This Week + Dinner at Uncle

I just walked into my office and discovered a moth flying around.  I seriously almost just turned around and headed back home.  I do NOT do moths.  Joey caught it with his hands and now I’ll just be reminding myself not to let him touch anything of mine for the rest of the day.  Anyway, it’s Friday, it’s the beginning of Memorial Day weekend and it’s time for a weekly recap.  Because someone neglected to post all week.  Oopsie!

On Monday

It rained.

We went to the Rockies game.  I’m a fair weather fan in the most literal sense so the drizzle and chill wasn’t ideal, but I think Joey and I were both so set on going to a game that not going never even crossed our minds.

Aaaaand we lost…

IMG_7970

On Tuesday

It rained.

I ate a quesadilla, because it seemed like the only way to beat the rainy day blues.

We finally finished The Wire.  I was never really on board with the show, but that last season really lost me.  What should we watch next?!

IMG_7994

On Wednesday

It rained.  Are you getting as sick of this as I am?

We grilled burgers (in the rain…), roasted giant in-season asparagus, drank beer and pretended as hard as we could that it was summer.

We didn’t watch Letterman’s last show.  Is that bad?

IMG_7978

On Thursday

My nephew graduated kindergarten!  They sang “Here Comes the Sun” during the ceremony and I’ve never been more proud.  You’re never too young to start learning Beatles lyrics.

On our way into the school, I (and all the parents, teachers and mortified children outside) watched a lady accidentally roll her car over her son’s foot/ankle when he got out of the moving car.  The mother sat in the car screaming until someone pulled her out and moved her car.  I wanted to speak to the school counselor afterwards because I felt traumatized.

We went to dinner at Uncle!

IMG_7985

When it’s May, you live in Colorado and you haven’t seen sun or warmth all week, a giant bowl of ramen is where it’s at.  Also, we’d had Uncle on our “list” for a long long time.  We braved the dreaded hour-long wait and it was so worth it!  We started with the fried green tomato buns, followed by pork belly ramen (for Joey) and spicy chicken ramen (for me) and it was all phenomenal!  Mine had a tahini broth!  Plus we got to sit at the chef’s counter and watch all the kitchen action.  I loved it all!

IMG_7990

IMG_7988

On Friday

IT’S STILL RAINING!!!  What have we done to deserve this?!

I’m missing my mom and sister who have been in New Orleans since last Saturday.  Come home, you two!

I’m looking forward to another Friday Rockies game, Saturday parties and Denver Day of Rock, Sunday yard work, the Bolder Boulder and anything else that happens during one of my favorite holiday weekends of the year!  And I’m going to pretend it won’t be raining during all of those things…

Happy Memorial Day Weekend!

Dinner at Ophelia’s

Sometimes you plan on going on a run after work but then it rains.

Sometimes you plan on staying up to watch the Rockies game but then you can’t keep your eyes open past 9:30.

Sometimes you plan on posting a glowing review of the new restaurant you went to but the experience turns out to be less than glowing.

What can you do but press on?

IMG_7900

Joey and I’s 8 year dating anniversary was last night and I’m not sure what the rules are for anniversary celebrations after you get married.  Do you stop celebrating the dating one and start celebrating the wedding one?  Do you kinda celebrate one and really celebrate the other?  Do you continue celebrating both because you’ll take any excuse to go out to dinner?  Yeah, I think I’ll stick with that last one.

IMG_7896

Ya know how I’m head over heels in love with Linger and Root Down?  Well they just opened a sister restaurant called Ophelia’s in a building that used to be a brothel.  I booked a res as soon as the restaurant opened a few months ago, figuring it’d be the perfect spot for an intimate anniversary dinner.  First stop, cocktails!  When in doubt, order the cocktail with ginger beer.

IMG_7901

Second stop, cheese!  We split two starters to… uh start.  The first being Peppadew Poppers, stuffed with cream cheese and served with cheese curds, a blood orange marmalade and mustard dipping sauces.  Uh yes please.  It worked out perfectly because Joey was so into the peppers and I was so into the cheese curds.  Also, we got a huge kick out of that tiny fry basket.

IMG_7897

You know what this meal could use?  More cheese!  This is the Spring Cheese Incident and it gets my vote for puniest dish name and my vote for best thing we ate.  Basically, it was a skillet of melty cheese with asparagus, tomatoes, zucchini and almonds on top plus pita for dipping.  Though we totally just dug our forks in it too.

IMG_7902

For the main event, we split the Wagyu Beef Sliders and the Bolognese, Mozzarella, Roasted Carrots & Basil Flatbread.  We both thought the beef sliders were just okay.  I actually compared them to White Castle sliders which might be good and might be bad depending on who you are 😛  But I did love the flatbread.  Who knew roasted carrots went so well on a pizza?

IMG_7903

For dessert, we each ordered a Smoked Salt Caramel.  A dessert for those of us who are so full but find it incredibly difficult to pass up a post-dinner sweet treat.  These were teeny so it was the perfect bite at the end of the meal without putting you over the fullness brink.  Also, we were like “do we eat these petals?”

IMG_7904

While the food was all phenomenal (and we actually liked it better than the food at both Root Down and Linger — what?!), there were a handful of service-related disappointments that really added up.  Maybe they were new restaurant kinks, maybe I’m hard to please or maybe it was all just a fluke but I expected more from this place.  I’m sure we’ll be back but maybe I’ll just set my standards a little lower next time.