Halloween for Introverts

Does it seem like there’s a lot of introvert “literature” floating around lately?  (I’m using the term “literature” lightly because I am totally talking about Buzzfeed articles…)  I feel like I scroll past one every time I go on Facebook.  And as a proud introvert, I could not be happier.  It is the era of the introvert, hear me roar!  (Or maybe don’t because I think the definition of an introvert is someone who doesn’t roar…)

Anyway, my point is that even though Halloween is on a Friday, I’m embracing my introverted ways, and staying in to watch Interview with the Vampire (because I just finished the book this week and because I’m choosing to ignore my mother’s warning that the movie is terrible), carve a pumpkin, drink an Apple Cider Shandy and do that thing that newbie homeowners get to do on Halloween… hand out candy to tiny Trick-or-Treaters.  Rejoice!

IMG_5585

And because sort of grown ups like to have fun too, I’m going to do this all in my “I-threw-this-together-and-am-counting-it-as-a-costume” costume.  We’re the King and Queen of Hearts, thus marking only the second time ever that Joey and I have done a “couples costume.”  I feel like that deserves some kind of award.

IMG_5687

IMG_5688

IMG_5711

IMG_5710

photo

Oh and I’m going to pretend that having a 7 AM flight is the reason I’m not staying out all night at some hot Halloween party, but we all know the real reason.  Viva la introvert!

Weekend Things

Lookie what came in the mail on Friday!

IMG_3415

That would be RSVP cards and an invitation to my own bridal shower!  Eeeee!

IMG_3416

We met with our photographer after work on Friday to go over our day of timeline for the wedding.  I’ll be honest, I’ve been agonizing over that timeline for months WAY TOO LONG.  I mean it’s an incredibly important day and I just wanted to be proactive about setting it up perfectly.  #ControlFreak

Anyways, it all paid off when our photographer was totally impressed by how prepared we were.  As uptight as I was about the timeline, I trust our photographer so much that I have no specific photography requests.  She’s the pro so I’ll just let her do her thing 🙂

IMG_3421

On Saturday morning, I had a facial followed by a massage.  Rough life, right?  I scheduled a few of both of those things for the next two months.  Ya know, to keep myself relaxed.  I think it definitely worked on Saturday.  In between appointments, I had some time to kill so I walked five minutes to my old neighborhood and strolled the street I grew up on.  It was so weird looking at the old house and knowing someone else lived inside.  Sigh, I miss it.

IMG_3420

Post facial/massage lunch was picked up at Alfalfa’s.  The salad I put together was just alright but that Upstart Kombucha was delicious.  Even Joey thought so.

IMG_3430

Later, we brewed Root Beer!  Cool, huh?  In a perfect world, we would have cooked up our own extract, but sometimes shortcuts are where its at.  Like when you remember that you wanted to brew Root Beer three days before a family BBQ at your house.

IMG_3426

Followed by dinner and a movie on the couch — one that I LOVED and am hoping to post about later this week.  P.S. That’s that pizza we bought from TJ’s and Joey liked it so much that he says he’s willing to make a stop at the store just for another one.  What is happening?!

IMG_3435

I swear I was going to get up early on Sunday to fit in a run before it got too hot, but my bed just felt too nice and then there was the mention of pancakes and that whole running plan went right out the window.

IMG_3434

I can’t remember the last time we participated in Pancake Sunday so this breakfast was extra delightful.  I bought the biggest carton ever of blueberries and thought pancakes were the perfect way to put them to good use.

IMG_3437

Followed by a Root Beer tasting at 10 AM, naturally.

IMG_3443

I’ll completely bore you and say we spent the entire day cleaning and organizing our house.  All those projects that we were so adamant about doing right away finally got done… 10 months later.

IMG_3445

I love my little NOLA wall 🙂

IMG_3442

Also, these tape lines that we put up when we first moved in and were trying to decide on some mirrors to hang over our bed were finally replaced by some Georgia O’Keeffe prints that I bought at least four years ago…

IMG_3451

Yeah, that’s better.  Although I will miss the conversation starter that the blue tape provided 😛

IMG_3468

We ended the day with dinner to celebrate my Mom’s birthday.  She’s leaving for New Orleans this week and will be gone on her actual birthday so we celebrated a little early.  And we ate at an amazing restaurant — something else I’m hoping to post about later this week.

How was your weekend?