Weekly Wrap Up

Hi. Happy Friday! How was your Mardi Gras? How was your Valentine’s Day?

It’s no secret that I adore both of this weeks holidays. And sorry if you’re one of those “Valentine’s Day is just a Hallmark scam” people, but I totally buy into all the mushy hearts, cards, chocolate and love that’s all over on Valentine’s Day.

As for Mardi Gras? What do you mean you don’t celebrate?? After experiencing Mardi Gras in New Orleans last year and seeing just how big of a deal it is there, it actually baffles me that my mom grew up there and now lives somewhere that barely recognizes that it’s a holiday. I bet that was a shock when she first moved here.

IMG_2449

I won’t lie, I listened to New Orleans Jazz radio and watched live stream of Bourbon Street basically all day. Then I went home, made étouffée and pretended I was in the Big Easy.

IMG_2452

We even made our own shrimp stock and the étouffée passed my mom’s judgment, so I felt pretty good about myself. Except when I thought about how much butter was in there. Then I felt less good about myself. 🙂

IMG_2442

IMG_2451

I celebrated Valentine’s Day by dragging Joey to the gym with me at 6 AM, enjoying lunch at a new-to-us restaurant and making margaritas for Hannah and I.

IMG_2466

IMG_2476

I know Valentine’s Day is marketed as a couple’s holiday but for me it has always been about ALL the love in my life. So I’m happy to spend it with all the love in my life, friends, family and margaritas included.

IMG_2462

**********************

Do you get really into Valentine’s Day?

Do you like Cajun food?

If you had to choose: chocolate or alcohol?

In 2013

I’m not really sure how I feel about New Year’s resolutions. I hate when people “want” to make a life change but use the New Year’s resolution as an excuse to put it off till the first of the year.

But then again, it’s hard not think of the new year as a clean slate and a chance to right all the wrongs from the year before. So maybe my opinion on resolutions isn’t as set in stone as I thought it was. Maybe I’m only 23 and my beliefs on most things are still in a state of flux. That’s okay.

Either way, here I am in 2013, making a resolution. I resolve to be less scared. For 23 years, I’ve been living in fear of doing things that are outside of my comfort zone. I don’t want to learn new things or meet new people, for the fear of making a mistake or saying something stupid. Basically, I don’t want to put myself out there. And that’s so stupid.

In 2013, I will say yes more. I will try new things, make mistakes, maybe feel uncomfortable and be out there.

***************
Do you have a New Year’s resolution?