Weekend Things

We had a really good weekend because: It’s June! It’s Summer! We went fishing! Being outside is the best! Also, these babies are just sleeping so so so much better and I feel human again, instead of tired and impatient. Hallelujah!

I dropped the kids off at Grandma’s on Friday morning, then snuck in a run, got some work done and headed out to get my nails done. Dempsey told me to get orange, so I did and I love the color! Joey brought the kids home later on and then we had pork burrito bowls for dinner. Got the kids bathed and in bed before watching Top Chef 😊

We had a fun little Saturday adventure ðŸĪ Bob, Becca and their two girls were up camping at Carter Lake and invited us up for lunch and fishing! They were kind enough to feed us all and the four kids did some laps in their camper afterward 😂 We were just about to head to the lake when it started sprinkling, so we took refuge in the tent that had set up outside. That is, until the wind started blowing so hard that the sides of the tent were popping inward! We all rushed back to the camper but it blew over pretty quick and we were still able to drive to the lake. I don’t think we ever really had a shot at catching any fish, but it was a fun time anyway. We got covered in red dirt and put our feet in the water to cool off. I think everyone had fun! I thought both kids would sleep in the car on the way home, but all we got was fifteen minutes out of Lydia ðŸĪŠðŸĪ·â€â™€ïļ

Back at home, we unpacked, Joey and I each took a shower and Dempsey helped me mix up some pizza dough for Sunday. Another bath night for both kids and then we got them to bed and sat outside for a bit. Felt so nice! ðŸĨ° Came inside to make popcorn and start a movie, but more on that later.

Sissy sees Dempsey sleeping with a pillow and blanket and seems to want her own set 😍 Joey was up earlier than the rest of us and made us waffles! Afterward, we got the kids in the stroller and walked up to the Highlands Farmers’ Market. It was super busy and crowded, but felt so nice to not be in the rush that I was in every time I went last year, trying to make it back before Lydia’s morning nap. We got coffee, cherries, sweet potatoes and our fill of people for the day 😂 Back at home, the day seemed to stretch on forever somehow! We even had time to clean the oven, do a toy rotation, make salads, do laundry, watch a movie with Dempsey and play outside before dinnertime. My parents got Joey an outdoor pizza oven for his birthday and this was our first time trying it out. Definitely a learning curve, but I’m excited to get it down. The white pizza was my favorite and next time, Dempsey says we should make a green pizza 😂 I’m down! The littles were so wound up at bedtime, but we got them to sleep and finished our movie. I thought the plot was pretty bad but we also laughed a lot, so we had fun overall.

This week, the kids get back to back to back to back Grandma days and are taking a trip to the zoo. I’ll have the day off with them on Friday, so I’m hoping to do something fun and then we start soccer and go to Elitch’s for the company picnic! Should be a good good week!

Memorial Day Weekend ðŸŒ­ðŸ˜ŽðŸ’“

Whew, three-day weekends sure feel different when you have kids! An extra day to completely wear yourselves out 😂 I wouldn’t have it any other way. Heavy legs and falling asleep on the couch at 8 PM on Monday night aside, we had such a fun and full Memorial Day Weekend. A real deal date night for Joey and I, flowers planted in the backyard, a new bed for Dempsey (!!!!!), a father-son Rockies game, another Bolder Boulder and a big old family BBQ to top it all off ðŸĪ

Grandma Lori had been asking for a sleepover with both kids and I had been begging to find time to see The Fall Guy, so we lined both up! It was the first time both kids had been out for a night at the same time and it felt truly strange. It sounded like they had a fun night though and so did Joey and I. The movie is such a good time. The plot is a little thin/repetitive in places but Ryan Gosling is just so good and funny. He and Emily Blunt have amazing chemistry and Joey and I laughed SO hard at a particular line/scene toward the end. We hit up the newly-opened ChoLon Sloan’s Lake afterward and the soup dumplings never disappoint!

Joey and I took ourselves to Queensberry Coffee for breakfast then hit up Elliott Gardens to buy flowers for the backyard. Got most of it planted before the kids got back home. I missed them so much! Dempsey helped plant one little pot for each of them ðŸĨ° The rest of the day FLEW by. After Lydi was up from her nap, the kids “helped” Joey disassemble Dempsey’s toddler bed and assemble his new big kid bed ðŸĨš The sleep consultant we are working with suggested we do this and I was really hesitant to change anything up on him since the transition from crib to toddler bed is when all of his sleep issues started but we floated the idea by him and he seemed excited and picked this tent-shaped bed (plus three sets of sheets) out himself. He’s slept in it since Saturday without any issues! 🎉 Fired up the grill for hot dogs and brats and had a summery dinner outside before putting the kids to bed and starting Challengers.

Sunday! I made us brioche French toast now that Lydi can eat it and it really hit the spot. Afterward, we played and then Lydia went down for her nap and Joey and Dempsey headed out to the Rockies game. I spray painted their hair purple for them first 💜 While Lydia was asleep, I made salads for the week, sweet potato potato salad for the BBQ on Monday and granola, because we were out and it felt like an extremely productive nap time 🙌 Once she was back up, the two of us hung out and kept up on our video/photo updates from the boys. She was so genuinely excited every time we got one because she loves her big brother ðŸĨš Once the boys were home (and it sounded like they had a great time!), I made us all penne arrabiata for dinner and then we got the kids to bed and finished our movie. I had really been loving it on Saturday night but I regret watching it in two pieces because I felt it lost its momentum for me and I wonder if that would have been the case if we had watched the entire thing in one night. I did find it really interesting and the music is… quite a vibe but I do wish it hadn’t jumped around quite so much. Joey was not a fan 😂 Got ourselves to bed after that because we had an early morning coming.

We had quite the Memorial Day! Up and at em and out of the house by 6:15(ish) to make our way into Boulder. Our wave wasn’t taking off until 9, but we wanted to get there in time to park close to the stadium, walk to get coffee and get sunscreen and bibs on without getting stuck in traffic or rushing. Mission accomplished! God love him, but Dempsey is in SUCH a “hold me” phase that’s pretty tough right now. We had acquired a hiking backpack “for Lydi” but realized, realistically, Dempsey would be riding in it instead. My 17 month old walks more than my 3.5 year old at this point 😅 Anyway, somehow we toted these kids 6.2 miles for yet another year! I was a hot sweaty mess by the end, but I do so love this race and the feeling that all of us walkers are in it together, especially everyone with kids. Afterward, we cleaned ourselves up and let Lydia take a little nap before heading over to Lauren and Adam’s. Everyone had a great time! Lauren’s niece is just a bit younger than Dempsey and the two of them really hit it off and played together the whole time ðŸĪðŸĪ We got home and got the kids to bed then relaxed on the couch, where we both maybe fell asleep. We were in bed by 9:15! I hope everyone else had a good holiday weekend as well.