Weekend Things

It’s May and it’s go time! We have a beyond busy month and after feeling behind all day on Saturday, I’m determined to stay ahead of the game from here on out. We went to a very special wedding on Friday, celebrated a first birthday on Saturday and went to the Botanic Gardens for my mother-in-law’s birthday on Sunday. Busy but wonderful 🤍

Courtney & Philip are married! We are so happy for them and had the best time celebrating this special occasion. Two hawks were flying overhead during the ceremony and I thought it was such a cool moment 🤍 Joey and I danced too much, I was so tired afterward 😂

Our children decided to punish us for leaving them home on Friday by waking up at 6 AM 😩🥱 Joey and Dempsey went back to bed but Lydi and I were up for the day! After the boys were up, Joey made us all waffles and I went to grab some coffee beans because were completely out. We didn’t have plans until 3 PM but somehow, the day SPED by. I literally don’t even know what we did all day. It was a beautiful day at the park, celebrating Aleia’s first birthday and all the kids had fun playing together. We left around 5 and I rushed to get dinner together. Dempsey wanted to eat outside and that was fine by me. I had cooked some chicken in the crockpot and used it to make BBQ sandwiches, along with some slaw and sweet potato fries. Joey put Lydi to bed while Dempsey and I played in the backyard and then I got him to bed, at which point, Lydia woke back up. Her sleep’s been a mess lately and it’s always something — teething, a cold, a stomachache 😣

We had such a nice Sunday! Lori wanted to celebrate her birthday with something outdoors so I suggested the Botanic Gardens. It was a little bit cloudy and chilly when we first got there but after lunch, the sun came out and it was perfect. We stopped into the children’s garden first thing and Dempsey was having the most fun running back and forth across a little bridge. Over in the main garden, the tulips were still out but looking a little more wilted than when we were there two weeks ago. Lots of new stuff had popped up though!! Back at home, we all rested and then did some toy rotation. How come all of the Instagram reels I see make it look so simple but I was sweating from going up and down the stairs to the basement a million times?? Anyway, it felt nice to get that done. I opted not to make salads this week and I’m sure it’ll come back to bite me later but I won’t lie, it was wonderful not fitting that in. Leftovers for dinner and playtime after and then both kids went to bed. Woke up at 1 AM to Dempsey in our room and Lydia had thrown up in her bed. I think she’s teething again so she’s been really off and I’m hoping that’s all it is 😢

Happy Monday!

Weekend Things

Well we tried to make the most of this weekend, despite cold weather, another lawn mower trade-in bust and two very sick kids. We still had some good food, lots of good cuddles and, once the weather cleared up on Sunday, some much needed fresh air for all of us. I’m hoping Dempsey and Lydia can recover this week and Joey and I can stay healthy (though we both have scratchy throats already 😬) because we have an exciting weekend coming up!

Friday morning, I took the kids over to Grandma Lori’s and back at home, I worked, unloaded our grocery delivery and re-watched the 2021 West Side Story and man, is it good! Every performance perfect, every shot a literal masterpiece. Remind me why this wasn’t Best Picture?? Anyway 😋 Went for a run later that afternoon then cleaned myself up and headed out to pick up wings for dinner. Joey got home with the kids shortly after and these hit the spot! Put the kids to bed and watched Top Chef before we went to bed.

Rain turned to snow overnight and we woke up to a wet wet day. Joey and Dempsey headed out to grab bagels to eat in the car while they waited in line to trade in the mower but then it turned out to be a standing line OUTSIDE. Lydia and I were about to head out to come rescue Dempsey — a kid with a cold definitely shouldn’t be standing outside in the snow! — when Joey called to say they were already out of tickets. Bummed we wasted two Saturday mornings on this trade-in, but what can you do?

Dempsey started to go down hill fast afterward and we basically just vegged on the couch all day. Started Migration but it just wasn’t holding any of our attentions. I made some beef quesadillas for dinner but neither kid had much appetite for it. Dempsey was literally falling asleep at the table, so Joey took him up to bed shortly after. Lydia decided her bedtime was a nap, so she ended up on the couch with us while we watched TV. She stole my tea but I forgive her, she’s too cute drinking it. Finally got her to sleep around 9:30. This cold has seriously regressed us with her sleep and I’m hoping we get back on track soon.

Dempsey had a rough night, waking himself up multiple times because he was so stuffy 😔 Once we were all up for the day, Lydia and I made us some banana pancakes. Here she is having a fit because I wouldn’t let her spoon any more of the batter onto the counter/floor. Breakfast turned out really good! And then Lydi had another little fit about not being able to get her shoe on her foot. It’s been funny to see her do all the “classic” toddler tantrum stuff. Sorry, Little Miss, even when you’re mad, you’re adorable.

Dempsey was so out of it all morning, so I took him upstairs to read in his bed and he fell asleep!!!! He literally hasn’t taken a nap in his bed since January. And he ended up sleeping for two and a half hours. I think he really needed it. Joey went upstairs with Lydi and I had the downstairs to myself for the first time in a long time. Got salads made and then Joey cleaned up the backyard while Lydia and I took a walk to the coffee shop. When I got back, Dempsey was up so we had a little bit of time outside together before Joey made us pork noodle bowls for dinner. Got them both to bed and actually got Lydia in her bed for the first time in a long time, we actually had some time alone at the end of the night. Just me, Joey and Ethan Coen 😂 Started Drive-Away Dolls and I’m not sure what I think yet, but I think I know which Coen Brother is the “fun” one. Wishing you all a Happy Monday!