4th of July Weekend 2023

We had the best holiday weekend and I’m already so sad it’s over! I think the 4th of July should always be on a Tuesday because it meant having four whole days off and being able to fit in so much fun, relaxation, projects and family time. I hope you all had a great weekend as well 😊

Friday started with a trip to the dentist for Dempsey and he came home with a new toothbrush and tube of toothpaste that he’s been very excited about 😂 After work, Hannah, Josh, Mason and Henry came over for wings and then the boys ran around like crazy all night. We definitely need to work on our hitting still but otherwise it was a fun night. Hannah brought a dessert that her dad has been perfecting and I’m happy to be his taste tester any time!

Started Saturday with Lydi snuggles 🥰 She loves those feet! Made us whole wheat buttermilk pancakes afterward and then rushed to soccer because we are always rushing to soccer 😅 Lots of kids were out of town for the holiday so we combined with another team, which meant Joey had another coach’s help and it seemed way easier that way! Dempsey seems to think practice is one big game of running off the field for a drink of water but he participated for a bit of each of the activities at least. Had a chill rest of the day, which involved packing up Lydia’s 3 month clothes 🥲 and then I headed out to dinner with my sis. I recommended Lady Nomada after enjoying it a few weeks ago with Hannah and I’m still a really big fan. We ordered the same drink and the same dinner because we’re those sisters and it was so nice to spend some time with just her 🤍

Looking back, Sunday was my favorite day of the weekend! Started with breakfast at the newly opened Fox And The Hen and it was killer! Griddled blueberry muffin, huevos, croque madame and two cute babies to share the experience with. They were both in good moods and we had a fun time! While Lyds was down for her morning nap, Dempsey and I took a trip to WF for ribs (which I threw in the oven that afternoon and baked for something like four hours!). Afternoon naps were followed by a visit from Grandpa Steve and then I made us one of our favorite salmon dinners and we gave Lyds some potato which she seemed into! Put the kids to bed and decided a week before the new Mission: Impossible movie comes out is a good time to start watching the other 6?? 😅😅 After Lydia’s dream feed we moved her into the nursery for the night and crossed our fingers neither of them woke each other up all night. It worked!

A very chill Monday, featuring alternating running time for Joey and I, breakfast at home, a trip to the pediatrician 😬 and impromptu fireworks in the front yard when we let the forecast for Tuesday freak us out. After breaking out in hives from both avocado and yogurt, our pediatrician recommended we bring Lydia in. She chatted with us for a bit then recommended we see a pediatric allergist so we’ll be looking for one this week. Bummer! Banh mi sliders for dinner and then Lori, Chad, Delaney, Lorenzo, my sis and Wayne came over to light sparklers and fountains. I think Dempsey was a little nervous and a lot excited about fire and loud sounds 😂 We had a lot of fun 🤍 Lydia slept through it all and had another good night in her crib!

Happy 4th of July! We had to wake both kids up at 7!!! Got one fed, both dressed and in the car to first, pick up coffee and breakfast burritos and second, head to the lake to fish! Lyds and I wanted up see how it’s done. They didn’t catch anything this time around but we still had fun. Demps is getting so good at casting! While Dempsey was down for his nap, Lydia and I started watching the hot dog eating competition then while she was sleeping, I finished up some prep for the BBQ.

Both kids were up and ready to party at 3 when the rest of our family showed up 🎉 I made a melon mosaic that turned out pretty good, if I do say so myself and everyone brought some really good sides to go with the ribs. The weather ended up holding out so that we were able to be outside the whole time! Spruced up some store bought ice cream sandwiches for an easy and festive dessert and got a pic of all three kids in the beignet outfits Lori bought while we were in New Orleans 🤍 Started to rain, hail, thunder and lightning just as everyone was leaving. We got both kids to bed and finally finished our movie. I liked it! On to MI2! I truly hope everyone had an equally nice weekend 😊

Weekend Things

Another good weekend for us! We didn’t have a lot planned and it feels like those are the most spontaneous and happy weekends of all. A Friday mani for me, Saturday morning soccer, sweet potato dinner for Miss Lydi, fishing for the boys, a movie for Joey and I and, to top it all off, Dempsey had a sleepover at Grandma and Grandpa’s ☺️

Friday morning, Joey was out of the house early for a golf tournament, so I got the littles up and fed and off to Grandma’s then headed back home to work. Took a couple of hours off for car lunch and a manicure. I was committed to not overfilling my day — Friday is often a load of laundry here, a few minutes of dishwashing there, a run, two pumping sessions, etc. and I feel so tired by the end of it all — and it felt really good. So did eating a bowl of cold fruit!

Joey brought the kids home and we quick loaded them in the stroller and walked to Tocabe for dinner. Dempsey loves it there and so do we! He was busy making friends with the other diners out on the patio and didn’t want to leave 😂 Got them home and in bed then watched a little bit of Jury Duty before going to bed ourselves.

I’m not going to lie, I feel like none of us are in the best sleep phase right now. Dempsey has been doing this thing where he yells for us randomly to untangle his blanket or get him a bandaid. It’s usually something quick and painless but still disruptive to everyone’s sleep plus Lyds has been waking up once a night or so and often early in the morning. And Joey’s prone to insomnia already so if he wakes up with one of the kids, sometimes he’s done for. It’s a little bit of a mess but not to the point where we’re really struggling, so I’m hoping we can all just ride it out for now. Anyway 😅 That’s all just to say, I can’t even keep track of how our nights go or when our mornings start but I know this one eventually made it to strawberry cornmeal buttermilk pancakes and soccer. No hitting this week but boy oh boy, is it tough to keep this kid on the field and listening to “Coach” aka Dad. A true test of my patience. That being said, he did some jumping jacks, told everyone his favorite superhero was Spider-Man, pretended to be a shark and tried to kick the ball at Joey (he was supposed to 🤷‍♀️) so pretty good overall.

Post naps, Lyds played the tambourine 😂, I made some vegan brioche slider buns to have in the freezer (I hadn’t made those in so long and I missed them!), Joey made us really good pineapple pork for dinner (only sort of made a big deal out of him putting parsley on top instead of cilantro 😝) and then we all walked to get ice cream. We had been listening to music during dinner at home and heard “Tiny Dancer” and when we got to the ice cream shop, “Tiny Dancer” was playing inside. Isn’t that the weirdest thing?? Back at home, a bath for Dempsey, bedtime routines for both kids and then Joey and I went downstairs to fire up The Royal Tenenbaums in preparation for seeing the newest Wes Anderson the next day. Only made it halfway through but we finished it Sunday night and gosh, it’s good. Far less whimsical and painstakingly choreographed, more focused on emotion and plot, but still quirky and dryly humorous.

We had ourselves a busy but good Sunday. Woke up and made quick breakfasts for us all, then Joey and Dempsey headed out to go… fishing!!! Joey had been making preparations all day Saturday, so they could just load up and head out early on Sunday. I was shocked and thrilled to receive a photo from him half an hour after they left where they were holding a good sized fish!!!! Lyds and I were just loading up in the stroller to head to the Farmers’ Market when they got back and Dempsey ran in yelling “we caught a fish!” Then he proceeded to tell his sister about it 🥺 I’m so glad they had fun. Little Miss and I headed out after that and luckily it wasn’t too hot yet. The market was packed as usual but we got caffeine and cherries and she was a happy smiley girl the whole time. I can’t wait to go back as a family of four! I also got a terrible vegan sandwich, but let’s not talk about that 😋

My parents showed up right as Dempsey was about to go up for his nap, so my mom took over and I handed that cute baby to Grandpa, so Joey and I could scoot out and see our movie. We liked it! Dialed back a bit from The French Dispatch but still so beautiful to look at. I want to live in that set! And some really beautiful performances. There’s so many people in this movie but we felt like they all got their moment to shine. The plot is a bit convoluted but I felt like there was at least a reason behind it. When we got back home, everyone was up in the kids’ room hanging out 🤍 We got Demps packed up and said goodbye so he could head off to the pool and then dinner and bedtime at Grandma and Grandpa’s. So we had baby girl all to ourselves and it felt weird but nice but sad but good 😅 Nothing like having two children to make you feel like one child is a walk in the park but I wouldn’t trade the chaos of two for anything! While she was down for her last nap of the day, I made a pretty rainbow of pickled veggies, then we ate dinner — Little Miss had some sweet potato puree and I think she’s yet to really get anything in her mouth but she’ll get there eventually! — got a photo update of Dempsey at dinner, hung out outside then put her to bed together. It was a strange experience because that’s how we used to put Demps down except it was a different baby? We decided to try out letting her sleep in her own room instead of in ours and she rocked it!!! Slept from 7:45 PM-6:45 AM without a peep. Not sure how it’ll work once there’s another child sleeping in there but we’ll test it out in a month or so. For now, it’s good to know she can spend a full night in her crib plus it was nice to be able to talk and have the lights on in our room before we went to sleep.

Hope you all had nice weekends too! We’re in the final stretch of June, can you even believe it?!