Weekend Things

This week on “You Know You’re 25 When”

Two beers is all it takes to feel buzzed.

Two cups of coffee is way more than it takes to feel buzzed.

You’re an expert at falling asleep on the couch.

Your most exciting purchase is a new cutting board.

You spend your Sunday organizing the drawers in your bathroom.

The 10 o’clock movie is just way too late.

And that was my weekend in a nutshell.  If you want the long version, it started with a private brewery tour at Denver Beer Co. Canworks which is dangerously close to our house.  We showed up to check it out and being pretty new, it was empty so we got our very own tour.  The inner workings of a brewery just blow my mind.  I pretty much think it’s the coolest thing ever.  Or maybe it’s all just so scientific and therefore over my head and impressive.  Oh and I got to try my first pumpkin beer of the season.  Hey, Pumpkin! (<— That’s what it’s called).

IMG_5636

Insert falling on asleep on the couch #1.

On Saturday we had a blissfully open schedule.  I’m not going to lie, it is incredibly strange to have weekends without plans.  We kind of don’t know what to do with ourselves!  After watching a squirrel eat our decorative porch pumpkins, we decided we’d better get out of the house.  We went with the good old couples shopping day… gross, I know.  Like I said, we got a new cutting board.  But it’s a Boos Block so it totally warrants excitement.  But really, the best part was a spontaneous lunch at North in Cherry Creek.  I saw kale salads on the menu and was sold.  Joey got a meatball sandwich and the accompanying crispy potatoes were to die for.

IMG_5668

IMG_5667

IMG_5666

After getting a late afternoon facial (can I please get one of those every week?), we took ourselves out to see a movie.  The Skeleton Twins was really really good and we both liked it.  I had heard that it was pretty dark (and moments of it definitely are), but I wasn’t prepared for all of the funny moments!  Don’t hate me, but I think this was the most I’ve ever liked Kristen Wiig and she and Bill Hader had such amazing (and believable) chemistry.  It was actually a very sweet movie.

Insert falling asleep on the couch #2.  SNL, why do you put me to sleep?!

IMG_5660

Our favorite coffee shop was hosting a pancake party yesterday morning so we walked over for bottomless cakes and coffee.  Except that the bottom was two cups and that was too many.  Yoga later in the afternoon was a little shaky 🙂  I won’t even divulge the rest of my Sunday for fear of boring everyone to tears.

Happy Halloween Week!

IMG_5648

 

Weekend Things

Good morning!  How was everyone’s weekend?  Mine was great, because A) fall in Colorado this year seems to be more beautiful than I ever remember it being and B) Denver Rock’n’Roll weekend!

We kicked things off on Friday with a trip to the race expo.  Honestly, I usually love the expo — what’s not to love about free mini Larabars?! — but the turnout was kind of disappointing this year.  Aka no Larabars!  Actually, we barely saw any of the tents we usually see.  Joey had to shush me when, on our way out, I mumbled “Turn back, there’s no Larabar samples!” to those runners just heading into the expo 😛

IMG_5576

Afterwards, we booked a weekend trip to Texas — should I regret this decision? — for the Cowboys game and went out to dinner with my family.

Saturday started with some sleep in action (for me at least…) followed by homemade Pumpkin Spice Lattes and pancakes topped with those apples I was talking about.  There’s a coffee shop nearby that makes their own pumpkin spice syrup (with REAL pumpkin!) that we originally planned on going to but my aforementioned sleep in set us back so homemade (still with real pumpkin!) it was.  A bit sweet but otherwise delicious!

IMG_5579

We spent the afternoon at a birthday party for Joey’s cousin’s son, complete with TONS of Ninja Turtles loot, a piñata and a homemade pirate cake.  The weather was sooo nice that day so we spent a majority of the party outside in the backyard (I even wore a dress!)  I wasn’t kidding about fall being extra beautiful this year!  Afterwards, we spent some time cleaning up our wedding stuff.  Yeah, we still hadn’t done that… and I’m happy to say our backroom is officially cleared out.

IMG_5584

We kept it pretty low key for the rest of the night.  The worst part about running Sunday morning races is it means an EARLY morning and thus an early Saturday night.  But I still deserved a pre-race beer sample, right?

IMG_5600

5:45 AM came way too fast the next morning!  But I was ready to attempt a 10K after not much running in the past month and having not run 6.2 miles since the Bolder Boulder… The 10K start line was actually pretty close to our house and we got there and parked with a good amount of time to spare.  Um, that NEVER happens!  I almost always miss my race wave.  Go figure that there were no waves at this race.

photo

The race went really well!  I should probably stop letting myself believe that a 10K will kill me 🙂  Actually, the whole thing went by relatively quickly.  They only had the first mile marked so I had no idea where we were until we ran up to the state capitol building (literally through the parking lot — so cool!) and I realized we were already at the finish.  The 1st place half marathoner finished RIGHT BEHIND us.  That is so crazy fast!  We stood by the finish line to cheer on the other runners and got to see the first female half finisher go by.

photo 2

photo 3

I love this race.  I never fail to feel empowered and inspired afterwards.  Joey and I have already agreed to sign up for next year’s half.  I’m feeling ready to jump back into it and challenge myself.  Now if only I could work on that whole speed thing.  P.S. It was just a little bit colder than I would’ve liked it to have been.  I was fine mid-race but walking around afterwards I was freezing!

IMG_5589

We took ourselves to breakfast afterwards and just barely missed the Denver brunch rush.  No wait, the Denver Brunch Rush.  It’s real and it’s not to be taken lightly.  Last time we tried to eat at Jelly, we showed up and the restaurant was closed due to a power outage so we were excited for another shot at eating there.  I dove headfirst into a piping hot almond milk latte (see above comment about being freezing), while Joey treated himself to a Bloody.  I’ll be honest, I liked Jelly but it just seemed a little bit too similar to Snooze and between the two, Snooze wins by a mile!

photo 1

The rest of the day was spent grocery shopping (that Whole Foods bulk aisle, ay yi yi…), hanging out in the kitchen (more apple pie filling, some granola and pomegranate arils) and Joey chasing me through the house every time the Cowboys scored so that he could pick me up and yell (please send help!).  Plus some reading, Gilmore Girls-watching and spaghetti squash-roasting.  Have I mentioned how much a love fall?

IMG_5591

Happy Monday!

P.S. Does anyone have any good restaurants recommendations in the Dallas area?